EVENT’S HORIZON

 

Praise at Kythera Photographic Encounters 2011

Solo Photography Exhibition, 2012, Anamesa

Athens Photo Festival, Greek Seas, Benaki Museum 

 

People, while living their lives, leave behind traces of their existence. These traces may show that they have simply passed through life or they may even reveal how they feel. I chose to capture traces that people left on a beach. They are usually small constructions made of sand, stone and wood. When I come into contact with them I feel as though I am partaking in their creators’ emotions or as if I am coming into contact with another existence and more generally with the Collective Unconscious. I also sometimes placed stones on top of another; a classic symbol of one’s having passed through a specific place. I took pictures of these constructions and with them my body as another “symbol” that changes form at every such contact I captured.

My goal, through this project, is to talk inductively about photographs as a sign / symbol of man.

This is an experiential project, photographed using a Lubitel modified into a pinhole camera with color film 120

http://www.viewmaster.gr/panorama360/EVENTS_HORIZON/EVENTS_HORIZON.html

http://www.photokythera.com/pages/english.html

 

About anastasia vlachaki

i see, in my way...
This entry was posted in PINHOLE, PRAISE, SELF PORTRAITS and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.